Hello World!

I have entered the blog-o-sphere! From hence forth, I shall chronicle the goings-on of this, my semester away from Whitman, on the webpage you now see before you. Here, you may find exciting stories of anything variant from my mundane life, harrowing tales in which I triumph in the face of adversity, the occasional punny attempt at being clever and, when I take the time to upload them, pictures!

At the present, my family is not-so-frantically packing for our annual trip to St. George Island, FL. Scheduled departure time is 7:00 am. Estimated departure time is 4:00 pm. I’ll let you know how that goes. Regardless of when we actually take off from our house (and have passed the forgivable distance during which we can turn around and return to the house when we realize we’ve forgotten something), we have about a 16 hour drive to survive together. That’s 16 hours with my three younger siblings, and my separated mom and dad in a suburban that, despite its tank-like appearance, never seems to be large enough.

Wish me luck.

And while I have your attention, let me direct you to my fundraising page! Over the next 5 months, I will be training for a marathon that I am running to raise money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. And I need your help in raising that money. As many of you know, my youngest sister, Grace, is a survivor of Leukemia. This disease has impacted my family in profound ways, both good and bad. I am running in honor of Grace’s struggle and my family’s experience as we supported her through treatment.

Please tell your friends! Converse with your parents! Email your distant relatives! Blood cancers are responsible for over 53,000 deaths in the United States each year. We need all the help we can get to find a cure. And every penny counts. Please donate.

4 responses to “Hello World!

  1. I’m glad you’re making a blog! And I like your links section. I will make a donation once I get moneys.

  2. I, too, am glad for this blog! I shall check in here frequently, and wish you the best of luck

  3. Totally facebook stalked you and found your blog! I am so impressed with your courage in training for a marathon! Next pay day I will definitely be donating! Good luck with the car trip! And apparently I really like exclamation points!!!!

  4. Haaaay Haley!

    I’ve been meaning to respond to your email, but now I see you have a blog. Way to be! I had a blog this summer too. It’s inactive at this point, but I’m totally down for comment-stalking your time away from me (tear). I’m already scheming for your return in the spring. Basically, it involves The L Word. haha. I’ll keep myself posted and keep your total views skyrocketing each day.

    hearts, jm

Leave a Reply

