What would you do?

Dear Readers,

Today I lazily woke up around 11:15 and, just like every morning, moseyed into the kitchen and read the paper over a breakfast of cinnamon toast and OJ. I’m really sorry to admit that most days, my concern with the world’s events stops there. I get up from the table, put away my dishes and go on to start the day rather unconcerned with whatever I just read. But today I haven’t been able to shake the front page story. Today, the Dallas Morning News printed the second of a two-part story (I hadn’t read the first part from last week) about a couple who find out that their unborn son had trisomy 13. You can watch a short video about their experience and read both parts of the DMN article here.

Though I think it goes without saying that this family’s story is incredibly moving, I can’t stop questioning the decision they made. Please don’t misunderstand me – I give this family my full support and am amazed by the grace and love with which they handled their situation. A big knot keeps forming in my throat whenever I think about what they had to go through. I just don’t know what I would have done in their situation. I want to think that I would give that precious child the chance to live and I have no doubt that Thomas’ 5 days of life were a blessing to his parents. I also know that I would have an impossible time making the decision to proactively let go (no matter how much future suffering I knew I was avoiding) and abort the child. But I also have a hard time believing that I would still agree with my decision to give him a chance at life while watching that little boy struggle to breathe as his life slowly slipped from him.

I don’t know why this story has had such an effect on me, but I’ve been troubled by it all day. I’d love to hear your opinions.

-Haley

Leave a Reply

