I’m not dead

Dearest Readers,

I promise I have not forgotten you. The last two weeks (and I can’t believe that two WHOLE weeks have passed since I last posted) haven’t been extremely taxing on my time, so I don’t really have an excuse for leaving y’all in the dark and neglecting your needs for excuses to procrastinate. My apologies. Because I know you all are on the edge of your seats wondering what’s happening in my oh-so exciting life, here’s the digest version of life since the last post:

Tom visited me! Much, much fun was had, rollercoasters were ridden, drinks were drank (drunk?), Texas spirit was seen, and great stories were born. It was very hard to see him leave.

I finished the first semester of Anatomy and Physiology! I am now well-versed in the ways of skin, muscle, bone and the nervous system. Now on to semester number two…

I’ve been having a lot of pain in my left hip when I run. Actually, it’s been so bad that I stopped running for nearly two weeks because I was having a hard time walking after I ran. So…I went to a doctor and we talked and took x-rays and all that stuff. And… I have bursitis. Again (well, this time it’s in my hip). Damn my old woman body. My doctor gave me some cortizone pills and this gel stuff that people with arthritis use and told me to do three weeks of physical therapy and to keep running on it. All that was nice and good, but it hasn’t helped. I haven’t gone to physical therapy yet, but running on it has just made it hurt more. So, I don’t know. I’ll let you know what happens.

Stupid parents of the kids I coach keep bringing their infected children to the gym. For some reason, they all seem to think that though their children were too ill to go to school, it is perfectly fine for them come to gym and share their germs with us and all of the other kids. And now I’ve caught something nasty. I don’t think it’s the flu (thank goodness) because I haven’t really had much of a fever, but I feel pretty awful. My chest is all tight and my voice is like ten octaves lower and I’m achy and my head hurts. Ugh.

And, finally, Bobby is home this weekend! She’s off for her fall break. It’s so good to have her back in the house. I miss her so much when she’s away.

But that’s about it. More to come, I promise.

Love,

Haley

4 responses to “I’m not dead

  1. Bursitis! not again, i’m sorry to hear this unpleasant news and wish you a fast recovery, this just opens up a whole new conversation topic you can have with all the ‘old’ people in your class now
    they will be able to ‘relate’ to you and think your cool

  2. haymarsh06

    oh yes. the beast has reared its ugly head again.

    and I don’t think I’ll be sharing this unpleasant circumstance with anyone else… I try to avoid anything that will remind me that i’ll probably be bed-ridden by the time I’m 50 and I feel like reminiscing about the good ole days with those more advanced in their years may do just that.

    and while I have you here… did you ever go see a doctor about your head?!

  3. “the beast has reared its ugly head again” gave me this image of some dragon coming out of its cave

    and no I did not see the doctor yet because i have not woken up early enough to see him and its probably fine but i did make the biggest mistake when i decided to skype with my parents during a headache and now they call me twice as much and tell my how foolish i was to play something that could hurt my precious noggin

  4. haymarsh06

    hahaha, “noggin”

    and YES – you are foolish! GO SEE A DOCTOR!

Leave a Reply

